air handler Trane TEM6

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-17, 06:19 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
air handler Trane TEM6

My new air handler and HP will arrive in 3 weeks. I need to get the branch circuit wire install. I'M told it takes 2, 2pole breaker. It is a 20kw unit, 83.33 amps. I know that means I can run two #6 cables (cu) but I know I also could run One # 4 (cu) and splice in the # 6 at the air handler to the disconnects on the air handler. I could also go with #2 Al. but need to splice to #6 copper at the air handler. What I don't know is what is the voltage of the motors in the air handler and do I need a neutral in my circuit?

I don't have a wiring diagram or the air handler to look at.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-17, 06:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
You can only connect copper into the unit.

I usually run what they specify. If the unit has two breakers..... run two circuits.
The blower will be powered from one of those two circuits.
A neutral is rarely needed.

You will also need a 240v 30A circuit for the condensor...... typically.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-17, 06:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,865
Received 1,204 Votes on 1,114 Posts
I was just looking at the Trane specs. I'm not seeing a 20K heating unit.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: