Replacing Heat Pump Thermostat

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-17, 05:31 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing Heat Pump Thermostat

I am replacing my heat pump thermostat but bought an Orbit Thermostat - I have an E wire and a blue wire that the new thermostat can not accommodate - I realized after the fact I have a heat pump thermostat. If I leave the E wire off will it hurt anything? or do I need to replace it with a compatible thermostat.

My old thermostat was a Bryant Heat Pump Thermostat - the replacement is an Orbitz Clear Comfort Pro - Can I use the Orbitz if it does not have a place for the E wire?

The Brant had:

C - Blue
W2 - White
R - Red
G - Green
O - Orange
Y - Yellow
E - Black

Orbitz

G
O/B
Y
W
RC
R
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-26-17, 05:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,135
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not familiar with an orbitz thermostat. You could post the model number.

You need a heat pump thermostat with back up electric heat.
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-17, 05:50 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is the exact thermostat - specs are on this page below

https://www.lowes.com/pd/Orbit-Clear...stat/999958143

It was already hooked up without the E wire connected. Is it possible to leave the E wire off?
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-17, 06:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,135
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Can you use it that way..... yes.
You will not have any back up electric heat or emergency heat.

I'm curious why you choose that thermostat.
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-17, 06:53 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i only chose it cause i had no idea my parents had heat pump thermostat otherwise I would of just bought a compatible one. I just thought I needed a digital thermostat and that one looked "nice" so I bought it.

I just found a little jumper wire in the Orbitz parts and it says "For heat pump only install between Y and W"

if it will work where does the E wire go?

I notice on the stats on lowes it says:
Compatible with Heat Pump (No Aux.) Yes
Compatible with Heat Pump (No EM) Yes
Compatible with Heat Pump (With Aux.)No
Compatible with Heat Pump (With EM) No
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-17, 06:57 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is honeywell a better one because I noticed it has a place for the E wire?
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-17, 07:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,135
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You put the answer in your post.

Compatible with Heat Pump (With Aux.)No
Compatible with Heat Pump (With EM) No

This is your system. You have aux/em heat.
It will work but not activate the electric heat.
You would need that jumper to use that stat.

The Honeywell sounds like it will work better.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: