Adjusting Aux heat runtime on Nest

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-29-17, 06:22 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Adjusting Aux heat runtime on Nest

I am considering a Nest but I have had problem with controlling the Aux heat in the past. Can anyone tell me how the Nest controls the Aux heat on a single stage HP system?

This is from an old thread of two years ago. I installed a Robertshaw 4320 on my 1 stage plus aux heat pump system.

The robertshaw has a setting to turn on the Aux after the heat pump runs for a while. I noticed a dramatic drop in my winter time heating power bill compared to the Honeywell 8200 previously installed. I have had it running for two years now.

Second Stage Delay = This timer starts when the first stage turns on. It resets when the first stage turns off. If this timer runs out the second stage will turn on...


Here is the thread: https://www.doityourself.com/forum/h...t-runtime.html

So the question I have is can the Nest accomplish the same thing?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-30-17, 01:28 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Nest doesn't have a very good manual.

They have this information on their site..
https://nest.com/support/article/Wha...t-Pump-Balance

I haven't seen anything like this when configuring customers Nest thermostats but most heat pumps that I service do not even have Aux heat since they are almost always Geothermal.


They have a phone number listed, you might try calling them...
https://nest.com/support/thermostat/


Posting back with your findings may be able to help many people with the same question in the future.
 
  #3  
Old 12-30-17, 02:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,200
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
With the nest you select "maximum savings" to use the AUX as little as possible.
 
  #4  
Old 01-01-18, 04:27 PM
jreed841's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It also depends on how cold it is outside. When it is below 30F outside your heatpump needs help heating with your backup heat. The normal setting is 2 degrees in temp difference between what the room temp is and the thermostat set point.
 
  #5  
Old 01-01-18, 04:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,200
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
This is a nest. Most of the settings are automatic. It's a "smart" thermostat.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: