Pool timer switch contacts

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-30-18, 07:38 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pool timer switch contacts

I have an intermatic pool timer switch the quit working. I opened it and the on off contacts were pretty burned. I filed the contact pads but not sure how long that will last and I need this to work for a couple more days.

Is there a way to reduce the voltage to the contacts by putting a resistor in series?

Any ideas on how I can get them to work again for a few days is greatly appreciated.

Also so how do I get a picture in here when using my phone? I only see a link but no way to chose a picture that is saved on my phone?

Thanks in advance
 

Last edited by Chiro Vin; 06-30-18 at 07:59 AM.
  #2  
Old 06-30-18, 07:54 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,482
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
Not much you can do with the contacts. The contact arms get weak from age and heat and don't have the strength to close tightly. You can clean the contacts and bend the arms tighter but it's strictly on a limited life basis.

I only load pictures from a laptop. This is the link I use. Not sure if it's applicable to a phone.

How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 06-30-18, 08:01 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. My fault for leaving out a piece of info. The timer is only a month old. Should of lasted longer than that.
 
  #4  
Old 06-30-18, 08:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,482
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
What's the make and model of the timer ?
Sounds like the duty rating is lower than your load.
 
  #5  
Old 06-30-18, 08:43 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 111
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They timer is a Intermatic P1131. It is rated at 20 amps. My pump is a Hayward power flo matrix rated at 15 amps so I am not sure what the heck is going on.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 06-30-18, 09:03 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,482
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
I have never found a plug in timer to handle anywhere near its claimed "rated" switching limit reliably. Resistive loads like lighting are one thing but a pump is like a dead short.

I would recommend switching over to a more commercial timer like the Intermatic T-101.
You could add a receptacle to that for your pump. You could add a cord and receptacle and use that plug-in if needed.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: