Cable TV/Internet Wiring Topgraphy

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-15-18, 08:33 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Cable TV/Internet Wiring Topology

Hi gang...

We recently upgraded to Xfinity's X1 service and I started getting terrible pixelation issues on the televisions. I am new to all this and need some help. I replaced the existing splitters to reduce signal loss and now have the setup as listed in section one of the attached image. I still get some pixelation now and then, and would like to know if adding an amplified splitter and changing the layout as show in section two will benefit me?

 

Last edited by goofyfish; 02-15-18 at 11:15 AM. Reason: spelling
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-15-18, 01:05 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
With one exception , never "piggy back" splitters. If you need four outlets use a four-way splitter, if you need six outlets use a six-way splitter. The same is usually true when using an amplifier, if you need six outlets use an amplifier with six outputs.

That stated, sometimes, depending on the gain of the amplifier you CAN use a passive splitter on an amplifier output.

The exception: When you have both Internet and cable TV it is almost always best to use a two-way splitter first with one side going to the Internet modem and the other side going to the multi-tap splitter or (better) amplifier.
 
  #3  
Old 02-15-18, 01:12 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 33
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The issue for me is that I cannot pull new runs to dedicate a line each to the kitchen and the internet router, so I am forced to use a splitter there. Is it worth trying at all?
 
  #4  
Old 02-15-18, 02:05 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 74 Votes on 67 Posts
We were getting that from TWC when they switched to digital. They had to change cable from street, put in a new ground connection and replace all splitters in house.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: