How can I fix humidity sensor on a Noma dehumidifier

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-27-19, 09:31 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How can I fix humidity sensor on a Noma dehumidifier

Hi everybody,

I have a Noma 043-5794-8 Dehumidifier who shows a E9 error. After searching on the web it seems to be the humidity sensor. So I would like to know if there is any ways to fix it up or bypass this issue. Here are somes pictures of the humidity sensor.

Thank you very much,

Jonathan
 
Attached Images    
  #2  
Old 10-26-19, 04:24 PM
V
Member
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you ever get this figured out? I have the same issue with mine.

Is there a replacement part? Or is it bypassable? ie if you take the sensor off will the machine still work just won't know what the humidity is and thus run 24X7?

Thanks!
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-19, 09:38 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Removing the sensor will result in the e9 error. However what I did to bypass it was solder the two pins that go into the actual sensor together. This results in the unit thinking it i/ 88 percent humidity. That got it going. But Iíll need to get a new humidity sensor to replace it so it doesnít run all the time.
 
  #4  
Old 11-11-19, 09:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,749
Received 1,318 Votes on 1,218 Posts
Welcome to the forums..... everyone.

Post the Noma model number for me.
That board is private branded. Very doubtful it can be traced.

Actually..... I was hunting around and found this..... Humidity sensor board
Looks like Hisense may manufacture the Noma unit.

More sensors here
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-11-19 at 10:08 PM.
  #5  
Old 06-21-20, 07:07 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hoooly thought I'd never find yahs!

I've been searching the bowels of the internet for others with this problem on this unit. Has anyone sourced sensor, otherwise which two pins specifically am I soldering together... and also soldering a toggle switch in line with? Would you be so kind and a draw on that picture you already posted of the sensor?

Thanks

Jeff
 
  #6  
Old 06-21-20, 09:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,749
Received 1,318 Votes on 1,218 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not quite sure what you are asking for. What are you trying to do ?
You asked if sensors were sourced and I left some sources.

Adding this to the general thread.... as I look at that board.... I see a temperature sensor on it too. The reason for that would be to detect when the coil was freezing to shut down the compressor for defrosting. I know some dehumidifiers also have an adjustable temperature setting for operation. Seeing how this board is connected by five wires.... it definitely reads more than just humidity.
 
  #7  
Old 07-08-20, 03:53 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
FYI... In my case I just had to clean the sensor of dust and voila!
 
  #8  
Old 08-01-20, 02:08 PM
N
Member
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HiSense Humidity Sensor

I too was able to correct the issue by simply cleaning the sensor with canned air.
 
  #9  
Old 08-04-20, 01:13 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Aug 2020
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I had the E9 error as well. I cleaned the sensor and used compressed air on mine...and the E9 error code went away. However, now the unit is icing up. Any thoughts?
 
  #10  
Old 08-04-20, 03:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,749
Received 1,318 Votes on 1,218 Posts
The sensor needs to be close enough to the cold coil to sense when it's approaching freezing.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: