Yellow jackets yikes

Old 05-06-18, 12:47 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yellow jackets yikes

I'm concerned because of the sudden appearance of yellow jackets, which appear to be Queens, in my family room. About a week ago, my neighbor's tree fell in my yard after an ice storm. He chopped up the tree and instead of throwing out the large pieces of wood, I decided to keep some of it as firewood. Unfortunately I didn't inspect the wood. I just brought it in and set it next to my fireplace. About a week goes by and I noticed a queen yellow jacket flying around that general area. I thought it was just one that had come in through the door. So I killed her and suddenly two more Yellow Jackets appear in the family room. I'm no expert but these other 2 also appeared to be Queens. It's my understanding that any yellow jacket you see in early spring is more than likely a queen. What gets me is that I took all of the firewood back out of my house. And even after I removed the firewood completely from my home and inspected the entire family room one evening, the very next day more Yellow Jacket Queens showed up. And they showed up in the window sill. When I look out the window, I see several Yellow Jackets going in and out of my house where the brick and the aluminum siding meet. I went outside with my mother and my aunt last night and sprayed every possible place we could with raid. About 4 years ago I had a very serious problem with a large Hive in the chimney. I got that treated and thankfully nothing returned. That occurred in September 2014.
My questions are, do Queens hide in firewood? Do you think she started building a nest in my house? How likely is it that I could have a large active Hive in my wall this early in Spring? Any other advice? I do have Terminix coming out on Tuesday.

Old 05-06-18, 03:51 PM
P
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 110 Upvotes on 103 Posts