Earthway spreader help

Old 04-11-19, 07:01 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Earthway spreader help

I recently purchased a used earthway spreader. The home depot sticker is still on it but faded. Looks like its a 2005 C24P model. Well anyways a guy listed it for sale on my local market place and got it for $60(the home depot price reads $299 on the sticker).. This thing is huge. I could probaly put easily 2 bags of 50 lbs fertlizer in it. Its rides so smooth with the rubber/air wheels and padded handles. Its defiantly commercial grade. Well heres my problem, When i open the 3 holes only half way nothing comes out. Works fine when the holes are opened all the way but goes through way too much product too fast. I figured I maybe doing something wrong(Its my first time owning a earthway). The broadcast path is huge on this thing. I never measured it but I would guess it almost doubles my scotts home owner brand(plastic wheels). Do you think this one was meant for lawn fertilizer/grass seed?

Old 04-12-19, 04:42 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
Is the agitator arm inside the hopper spinning? Other than that everything comes down to what you are spreading. Some materials flow better than others. Fertilizers that have gotten wet or exposed to humid air can get sticky and form bridges over the outlet.

Old 04-12-19, 04:46 AM
B
Yes the arm is spining fine. Ive used both a fertilizer and grass seed. The fertlizer was what I tried first. It was a 10-10-10. The prils was kinda big so tried grass seed which is small and still wouldn't work on the half setting.

Old 04-12-19, 05:30 AM
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
On my earthway spreader there is a gauge on the RH side that is connected to a cable which goes down to an adjustable plate inside the hopper which controls the size of the opening which regulates the amount of material that then hits the impeller!