Control multiple lights w/dimmers using Lutron Maestro

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-04-16, 08:32 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Control multiple lights w/dimmers using Lutron Maestro

Hello,

I have 2 sets of lights that I need to get running in my kitchen. I bought the Lutron Maestro because I read that you can control multiple sets of lights using the companion dimmers. The directions don't show you the wiring diagram for this.

The wiring info:
I have power coming into one box. There is a wire that runs to each set of lights. I have 2 3-wire romex going to the other box. How do I wire this to get these working? Is it possible?

Thanks,

Mike
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-05-16, 02:36 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Welcome to the forums! By "sets of lights", what is that? I think you may be thinking of controlling lighting via 3 way switching from two locations. Is that right? If you only have one cable (wires are individual conductors) to each "set" of lights, they will all come on and off together. Fill us in with more details as to what you are doing.
 
  #3  
Old 10-05-16, 06:42 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
More info

Hi Chandler, thanks!

I have a group of 7 can lights I want on one set of 3-way switches (Lurton maestro - master and companion) and a set of 5 can lights that I want on a separate set of dimmers. Both groups of lights are on the same circuit. Can I use 2 more companions? Another master and companion? How would I wire if I have:

14/2 Power coming in from breaker, 14/2 wire to one group of lights, 14/2 wire to the 2nd group of lights in one box along with (2) 14/3 wires going to the second switch location (only wires at the second location). I appreciate the help!

Thanks,

Mike
 

Last edited by mtro1221; 10-05-16 at 06:46 AM. Reason: More input
  #4  
Old 10-05-16, 01:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
You will need two dimmers and two companions.

In the one box you have.......
1) two wire feed in
1) two wire feed out to lights 1
1) two wire feed out to lights 2
2) three wire switch lines to second switch location.

So that's five cables at one end and two cables at the other end. Is that correct ?
Once confirmed I'll leave a diagram.
 
  #5  
Old 10-05-16, 02:18 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi PJmax,

Yes, that is correct. Thanks I will keep an eye out for the diagram.
 
  #6  
Old 10-05-16, 03:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Ok.... this diagram is shown for one circuit. Each circuit has its own switch line and light line.
Just the two wire hot in cable will be shared.


 
  #7  
Old 10-05-16, 05:05 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chandler and PJmax,

Thank you both for responding. PJmax, your diagram was perfect. I really appreciate your help! My lights are up and running and I couldn't have done it without you!

Cheers,

Mike
 
  #8  
Old 10-05-16, 07:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
You're very welcome. Good choice in dimmers too. They're the only ones I use.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: