Recessed LED lighting re-model


  #1  
Old 10-31-16, 11:03 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recessed LED lighting re-model

I am remodeling a kitchen and replacing an old recessed light with a new LED recessed kit. I am also jumping two pendent lights from the recessed light. When I hooked up the new recessed kit to the exsisting 3-wire Romex the light , and flipped the switch, the light didn't turn on. I disconnected the pendent lights so that the only light connected was the can light. Still no dice. I used a multimeter on the nuetral wire and it read 9V, and the hot didn't read any voltage. I tried switching the leads white to black and black to white, nothing. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 11-01-16, 01:07 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Tell us all the wires and connections at the switch.
I used a multimeter on the nuetral wire and it read 9V,
Neutral to what wire?
the hot didn't read any voltage.
Any voltage to what. Did you try to ground?
I tried switching the leads white to black and black to white, nothing.
For function it doesn't matter. White to neutral is for safety. It will work fine reversed.
 
  #3  
Old 11-01-16, 06:24 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The neutral in from the panel and the neutral from the fixture are connected to the switch itself, the hot wires and ground wires are wire nutted together. I checked the hot wire at the switch and it still read no voltage, which makes me think something got dis connected earlier in the circuit.
 
  #4  
Old 11-01-16, 08:14 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
The neutral in from the panel and the neutral from the fixture are connected to the switch itself,
You are misunderstanding something. Hots not neutrals are connected to the switch.
I checked the hot wire at the switch and it still read no voltage
You are still failing to say what you measured it to. A multimeter requires a measurement between two points. It almost sounds like you are using a non contact tester. You can not use a non contact tester for real testing.

These are multimeters:

Name:  index.jpg
Views: 78
Size:  26.3 KB

Name:  HHM90_l.jpg
Views: 80
Size:  22.7 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-01-16 at 08:35 PM.
  #5  
Old 11-02-16, 06:07 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,600
Received 156 Likes on 142 Posts
How many conductors aren't in the switch box, did it work before you connected the recessed up?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: