How do I put a new switch into an old outlet?


  #1  
Old 11-08-16, 02:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How do I put a new switch into an old outlet?

So, my wife and I purchased a wonderful little home that was built in 1948. It was updated in the early 70s and that was the last time. We are renovating it and are currently doing the fixtures. I have two questions.

First, is that fraying in the top left of the existing outlet dangerous?

Second, if the fraying is not dangerous, can this dimmer switch be placed into this outlet. If yes, then how? Specifically where does the dimmer wire connect and where should we place the ground?

Also, I realize this is a dual outlet and yes I have two new switches. Thanks in advance for any help anyone can offer.

Name:  IMG_0674.jpg
Views: 191
Size:  31.4 KB


Name:  IMG_0675.jpg
Views: 223
Size:  15.8 KB
 
  #2  
Old 11-08-16, 02:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The fraying is actually the paper packing in the cable. Normal, not a problem.

Your switch appears to be for either single location or 3-way use. The red and black wires in the middle probably go to the wires on your dimmer. Check the instructions with your dimmer to be sure.

Ground wire is not connected.
 
  #3  
Old 11-08-16, 03:29 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for responding so quickly. Glad to know that there is no danger. So, the striped wire does go to the dimmer. Is it possible to plug that in to the outlet or should I take it back and just get a regular switch? Thanks again.
 
  #4  
Old 11-08-16, 03:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,765
Received 4,119 Upvotes on 3,699 Posts
If you want a dimmer.... cap off the striped wire. You don't need it.
 
  #5  
Old 11-08-16, 04:33 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I'm confused by who means what by striped dimmer wire. AB, you wrote:
So, the striped wire does go to the dimmer.
Which I took to mean the striped house wire but Pete meant the striped wire on the dimmer*. So AB do you mean the striped house wire in the switch box or the striped dimmer wire?
Is it possible to plug that in to the outlet
Plug what where?

*The striped wire on the dimmer is for 3-way circuit use only so is not used in your situation.

Name:  G.jpg
Views: 204
Size:  23.8 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 11-08-16 at 05:25 PM.
  #6  
Old 11-08-16, 09:28 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah, the dimmer switch is a no go unless we want to rewire the entire house. Thanks everyone for helping us solve this. 😃😉
 
  #7  
Old 11-08-16, 09:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,765
Received 4,119 Upvotes on 3,699 Posts
A no go.... why ? I don't see a problem. Do you see something that I don't ?
 
  #8  
Old 11-08-16, 10:00 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
A no go? Did you see my diagram. It shows the dimmer wired in.

My previously posted diagram.

Attachment 72932
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: