Three way switch mistake

Old 11-23-16, 04:19 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Three way switch mistake

Ok, this is my first post, please don't make too much fun. I bought a house and am replacing old light switches. I am very new to electrical wiring. I was replacing switches and everything was fine, until I came to the three way switch. I replaced it with a two way switch It had three wires, so I attached two wires to the screws and one to the ground screw. The switch was working fine, but when I clicked the other switch(which I had not changed or done anything to) I saw a flash of light inside the receptacle of the switch that I hadn't done anything to. Now some lights/outlets work and some don't(all on the same breaker). It didn't trip the breaker, and now only some lights on that breaker won't work, while others will. No power to either switch and no power to some outlets. THe ones without power are pretty much all in one room in close proximity, so I'm hoping power is sent to one switch and then 'jumped' to a bunch of other switches/outlets.

My guess is that there are two wires that come from the panel that goes to at least two switches on that same breaker(in the breaker panel it has two switches that move together) and one is shorting out but the other is going through switches/outlets that are all good?

I know it was stupid and I should have looked into it more, but I didn't and thats why I'm here now...be kind..

Last edited by Clump; 11-23-16 at 05:14 AM.
Old 11-23-16, 05:37 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 77 Upvotes on 70 Posts
Since you are new to electric. I will ask a couple of basic questions. Did you get a 3 way switch? This will have 3 screws and a ground screw. Basic switches have 2 screws and a ground screw. After we know his we can help.

Old 11-23-16, 05:52 AM
C
I only had a 2 way switches and that is what I incorrectly replaced the three way switch with.

Old 11-23-16, 06:04 AM