How to test and replace vanity light fixture?

Old 01-07-17, 04:10 PM
M
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
How to test and replace vanity light fixture?

Okay guys, so in our bathroom, we have a double switch plate. One is for the fan, and one is for the vanity light fixture. The light fixture isn't working. I turned off the electricity to the switches. I opened the switch plate and saw two individual light switches inside. I replaced the switch to the vanity light, and that did not work. Vanity light fixture still not working.

Before I call an electrician, I'd like to eliminate the light fixture because I think it's something I can replace on my own. I happened to receive a multimeter for Christmas of 2015, but never opened it.

Firstly, I take It I can use it to test the fixture? But I have no knowledge of these things or electrical lingo. Can someone look at the picture of the Multimeter and give me step by step instructions on how to test the fixture? But I guess we would have to test the wires from the wall too, right? Because we don't know if it's the wires from the wall or the fixture that's the issue, correct?

Name:  mm.jpg
Views: 232
Size:  33.1 KB

Secondly, I've detached the fixture from the wall. Not completely detached. The wires are still bound together. If I needed to replace the fixture, how do I disconnect these wires? Untwisting doesn't seem to work, and it doesn't look like the wires are twisted inside the cap. There is actually some sort of gold plate inside, and I think maybe the wires are inserted into it or something. I've attached a picture so if anywhere recognizes this type of cap, maybe you can advise on how to disconnect. Do I just snip it at the base and re-strip for the new fixture?

Thank you in advance!

Name:  fixture wires.jpg
Views: 247
Size:  22.3 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 01-07-17, 04:35 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,112 Votes on 1,032 Posts