Re-wiring a wall fixture

Old 04-09-17, 08:06 PM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Re-wiring a wall fixture

I purchased a unique wall fixture with standard E26 light sockets. My intent is to use this device with Vintage LED bulbs (probably 3 or 4 watts each bulb).
Name:  China.jpg
Views: 262
Size:  51.7 KB

I really like the design and set-up of this fixture. Unfortunately, it is a very cheap Chinese make that was so poorly packed that it sustained some damage (pipes cut into some of the wires during transit) .

This item is not UL listed and the wires seem thin to me (not that I am an expert on this, but even if the wires were not damaged in transit I'm not sure I'd feel comfortable with this). Also, there is no normal way to mount this on a standard electrical box. It is designed to screw into the wall with pipe sleeves (not made for an electrical box).

Nevertheless, the fixture is unique enough that I am considering re-wiring as a DIY project so long as I can also find a safe way to mount it too.

My Questions:
1. What gauge of wire should I use to re-wire this?

2. I was thinking of converting the water valve to a rotary on/off switch (a DIY add-on). Thus, I am wondering that if I run my Romex into the pipe near the rotary switch that I would add, if it would be reasonable idea to make my Romex connection there (inside the pipe since there is no wall box)? Is this a bad idea? I suppose this would be dangerous because if a cap ever came loose, it could make the pipe itself live.

Anyway, if anyone has any suggestions on how I might safely still use this I would appreciate your suggestions. Otherwise, maybe I should just return it.

This gives you an idea as to how thin the wires are. These wires came out of the socket during transport.
Name:  wires.jpg
Views: 167
Size:  24.9 KB

Here is the socket with the missing wires. I'd have to get new wires into these empty terminals. I am guessing that the hot wire goes to the center of the socket?

Name:  socket.jpg