In ProcessAdSlots.php line 39: Trying to access array offset on value of type null

5” recessed light question

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-19, 05:05 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
5” recessed light question

New on here and I’ve been doing a lot of home improvements myself. I have 2 left over 5” recessed commercial electric led lights that go in a can/jbox from a room we redid. Is it possible to put them up in another room with no jbox or can and just directly into the Sheetrock. Reason I’m asking is because they have springs and can sit in a ceiling comfortably but asking if there’s a risk or issue. I can already see there’s no where for the ground to go.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-19, 05:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You'd have to leave us a link to the ones you are using. Some can be used without a housing.
 
  #3  
Old 02-17-19, 05:48 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Commercial Electric 5 & 6 in LED Selective Color (3000 or 4000 or 5000K) Recessed Trim https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07FVXKBBF..._UcGACbXFJDYCJ

Name:  rl.jpg
Views: 75
Size:  13.0 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-17-19 at 07:31 PM. Reason: added pic from link
  #4  
Old 02-17-19, 06:14 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 13,665
Received 221 Votes on 195 Posts
Those trims need to be installed in a can fixture. I don't believe they will fit in a junction box.
 
  #5  
Old 02-17-19, 06:26 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The fitament isn’t my question. The electrical aspect is my question, I know I can daisy chain 2 of them and they will work. I just want to know if that’s feasible as I have 2 left and the “direct celing mount” ones are double the price. When if I can just use the two I have left over I will.
 
  #6  
Old 02-17-19, 06:38 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,875
Received 78 Votes on 73 Posts
NO,NO,NO. those must be mounted in a recessed can.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 02-17-19, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,717
Received 1,180 Votes on 1,093 Posts
The wiring from that socket to the socket adapter is not rated to be exposed.
It was designed to be strictly a retrofit for a recessed fixture.
 
  #8  
Old 02-17-19, 07:47 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would just cut the adapter and wire the hot and neutral. So the can keeps the wiring contained and not exposed is the big issue. Other then that I don’t see much difference from this one and a “direct ceiling mount”. The structure seems the same on the back other then the clips that hold it up in the ceiling. They are IC rated but there is no insulation in ceiling.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: