smoke detector code question


  #1  
Old 09-12-19, 07:22 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
smoke detector code question

not sure if this is the right spot for this...
I am finishing my basement and have split the room in 2, a laundry room and a bar. There is a hardwired smoke detector in the laundry room already. I am wondering if I will need another hardwired detector in the bar room, which once installed would only be about 3 feet away on the other side of the newly installed wall?
I only technically need one per floor unless its a sleeping quarters correct? I will be getting this inspected.
thanks
 
  #2  
Old 09-13-19, 05:02 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 25,068
Received 861 Votes on 794 Posts
Unless they have updated the code I believe you are correct. Only one detector per floor unless there are bedrooms.
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-19, 10:39 AM
N
Member
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,743
Received 18 Votes on 16 Posts
I also believe you are correct.
I would however suggest a quick call to the local fire department or by-law office as I have seen local codes differ a hair. Some areas also have New construction vs. just plain required.
Most areas are one per floor, one per fuel burning room (furnace, fireplace), one inside each bedroom and one within 1 meter (I'm Canadian) of a bedroom door.
CO detectors are another animal.
Also should note (outside of the original question), that some areas accept 12V alarm panel smoke detectors as hardwired.
Locally, we also have the strobe smoke detectors that are a requirement for new construction (not retrofit that I know of). I have strobes due to hearing impaired children.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: