Finding the right circuit breaker

Old 11-24-19, 03:07 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Smile Finding the right circuit breaker

Hello, my bathroom light went out, None of the breaker got tripped. Now I can't find the right circuit breaker. How do you find the right breaker?
Thanks, ChengC1

Top Answer

11-24-19, 03:36 PM
PJmax
Group Moderator
Received 3,950 Upvotes on 3,543 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The number one priority for a homeowner....... identify what circuit every receptacle, appliance and light is on...... right now. Not when there is a problem.

I get calls weekly where as an electrician I have to identify what is on a circuit..... not only is this a time waster for me..... it costs the customer.

If you don't know what circuit the device is on..... you'll need to guess. If the breaker is not tripped..... there is a defective connection in the circuit. It could be a bad splice in a box or a loose connection on a device like a receptacle or switch.

Are you sure you don't have a tripped GFI receptacle in ANY of the bathrooms ?
Check to make sure everything else is still working.

Old 11-24-19, 03:36 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,950 Upvotes on 3,543 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The number one priority for a homeowner....... identify what circuit every receptacle, appliance and light is on...... right now. Not when there is a problem.

I get calls weekly where as an electrician I have to identify what is on a circuit..... not only is this a time waster for me..... it costs the customer.

If you don't know what circuit the device is on..... you'll need to guess. If the breaker is not tripped..... there is a defective connection in the circuit. It could be a bad splice in a box or a loose connection on a device like a receptacle or switch.

aka pedro, biketrax voted this post useful.
Old 11-24-19, 03:48 PM
A
Received 73 Upvotes on 66 Posts