Install a three-way dimmer switch


  #1  
Old 09-19-22, 11:40 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Install a three-way dimmer switch

Looks like I cannot put dimmer switch on both.Can I just change one the switch to a dimmer switch?
 
  #2  
Old 09-20-22, 06:26 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,498
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Yes, you can put two or more dimmers on a light circuit. But the dimmers and bulb must be made for the purpose.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #3  
Old 09-20-22, 11:04 AM
Z
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,364
Received 341 Likes on 307 Posts
You're probably referring to a three-way switch, which has two switches - usually at two entrances to the room or at the two ends of a hallway (long story why it's called that). There are two options you have:

1) Use a simple/inexpensive 3-way dimmer. The dimmer will replace one of the switches, and the other switch will just remain a switch. You can turn on/off the light on either side, but only dim from one location.

2) Use an electronic dimmer like the Lutron Caseta. These are a bit more expensive, but they link together and allow you to turn on/off AND dim from either switch.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #4  
Old 09-20-22, 08:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Thank you ,I only want to put dimmer on one switch and Zorfdt,you guessed it right 2 end of hallway.One should do(no wonder all the videos were about 3way dimmer switch).ty
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-22, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,082
Received 3,196 Likes on 2,871 Posts
Not sure exactly what you decided to do but if you decided to install a dimmer and a remote slave dimmer.... there will need to be wiring changes made. You can post pictures of the wiring at both ends and we can help you with the changes.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #6  
Old 09-20-22, 09:02 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,498
Received 625 Likes on 555 Posts
Just a comment.
To the OP, as you have found out controlling a light from two separate locations is called a three-way circuit (The light, and two switches make three ways). A four way would be a light and three switches one of which must be a 4-way switch with two 3-way switches. From there it's possible add as many switches as you like to control a light.

I mention this only because I have installed this scenario myself and it's confusing. I have seen several articles that reference or mention these and use the word two way when meaning three way. So don't beat yourself up about not knowing. Good luck. Once you do it, it seems simple. Until the next time.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #7  
Old 09-21-22, 01:24 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Thank you Norm201.So the light was 3d switch,thanks again.
Pjmax,I am going to change one of the switches to dimmer and I let you know.Thank you for helping me.
 
  #8  
Old 09-22-22, 05:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
installing a dimmer

How can I install this dimmer in place of the switch on the picture? ty


 
  #9  
Old 09-22-22, 06:20 PM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 2,006
Received 283 Likes on 242 Posts
Is there a pair of white wires connected with a wire nut inside the box that we cannot see? If not, and if the three wires connected to the switch are from the same cable, you cannot use that dimmer to replace the switch.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #10  
Old 09-22-22, 07:13 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
There is a pair of white wires connected with a wire nut inside the box.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-23-22 at 11:24 AM. Reason: reoriented/enhanced/labeled pic
  #11  
Old 09-23-22, 07:51 AM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 2,006
Received 283 Likes on 242 Posts
The switch appears to be a 3-way with a Line or Load wire (black) on the common terminal and 2 travelers (red and black). The dimmer appears to be a single-pole (1-way) with connections for Line (black), Neutral (white), Load (red), and Ground (green). That is not the correct dimmer for 3-way switching.

 
The following users liked this post:
  #12  
Old 09-23-22, 08:58 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I think u missed something there,this is for single and 3way,it has that red with white line on it too.
It looks like (since I am changing one of the switches to dimmer),from dimmer switch to the existing switch Red&white wire goes with red ,common with black ,green to ground and red to traveller black.Could you guys tell me if I am right?


 

Last edited by scrambledlife; 09-23-22 at 09:17 AM.
  #13  
Old 09-23-22, 10:18 AM
2
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA near Boston, MA
Posts: 2,006
Received 283 Likes on 242 Posts
Sorry, I did not see it as red. I thought it was white. Now I see it. I looked up the wiring diagram to be sure. That dimmer does not require a neutral but it must be installed at the Load end of the circuit (the single black wire goes to the light.

In that case the single black wire at the top of the existing switch should be connected to black on the dimmer. The other two wires on the original switch connect red to black traveler and red stripe to red traveler. Green is connected to ground wire or to metal box.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #14  
Old 09-23-22, 11:27 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,082
Received 3,196 Likes on 2,871 Posts
If what 2john posted doesn't work..... check the unconnected black wire coming out of the two wire cable.
I labeled it as common. It must be always live for the dimmer to work there.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #15  
Old 09-23-22, 06:46 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 139
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
I did check ,it was written on the back by the wire COMMON,I wired them and it worked great.Thank you all for teaching me this,I talk you all on next new threat soon.
 
The following users liked this post:
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: