Starter rope broke - Craftsman 22" snowblower


  #1  
Old 12-18-16, 09:35 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 326
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
Starter rope broke - Craftsman 22" snowblower

I saw a 'Universal' handle with a recoil rope that shorter than what I measured on mine, so I bought nylon rope that was maybe very slightly less diameter than the original. I installed it, but there's about 14" of extra slack. It starts fine, in fact it was still in my SUV after bringing it yesterday to a friend's house - didn't prime it but it started on the first pull. The original appeared to have stretched, about 7". I wonder did I not install the recoil rope correctly, or should I just remove the excess at the handle? Maybe I measured the original too long, and was stretched and weak.
 
  #2  
Old 12-18-16, 10:40 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
You probably didn't coil the spring up enough times to withdraw all of the perceived excess into the starter. One or two more loops will take up your excess.
 
  #3  
Old 12-18-16, 11:02 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 326
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
True, that would have been the best thing to do. I ended up cutting some off at the handle. If I run into trouble again I will go around a few more times with new rope since I have it on hand. With the original rope I measured (estimated since it broke) ~6 feet.
 
  #4  
Old 12-18-16, 11:16 AM
V
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North East Kingdom of Vermont
Posts: 2,195
Upvotes: 0
Received 3 Upvotes on 3 Posts
We probably only use the first 36" to 42" or so anyway; but you don't want the handle dangling around loose to get entangled in other components.

I suppose the extra bit allows us to re-tie a new knot the first time or two that it breaks, without having to go out and procure more nylon twine.
 
  #5  
Old 12-18-16, 02:33 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 326
Received 5 Upvotes on 5 Posts
"We probably only use the first 36" to 42" or so anyway"... did not realize that. I went back and made another knot, it's not real tight but at least it's not dangling.

Good point re: some extra, may be able to reuse the rope that's on the recoil. The timing could have been worse, at least I got my driveway done, about half of the one I was doing. Not easy pushing it up pickup truck ramps into my SUV with no power though! I had to take the insurance off the truck for a while. It almost fit in a Subaru Forester (with handles down of course) completely intact - just had to take the top of the chute off.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: