Stripped wooden shutters - need paint - must last 20 years

Old 06-25-16, 07:47 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Stripped wooden shutters - need paint - must last 20 years

My landlord approached me today and was totally frustrated by the fact he could not get good advice on what to do with his 30+ year old shutters that he spent $2000 on getting stripped. The wood is very porous at this stage.

I'm a former chemical engineer and a good painter...having dealt with aqueous acrylic paints, vinyl paints, as well as both catalyzed and non-catalyzed acrylic urethanes ....used mostly in the automotive industry.

My recommendation is the following steps:
1) aqueous acrylic primer - sprayed
2) let this set for 5 days
3) putty to fix cracks and holes
4) sand thoroughly
5) follow with another coat of aqueous acrylic primer - sprayed
6) wait one week
7) scuff with a course bristle pad
8) tack-rag and finish with a catalyzed acrylic urethane finish

I did something similar to this once for a front door....and the results were fantastic. It was a bright red door...and it stood the test of time...10 years and counting.

Any other ideas ?

Last edited by syswizard; 06-25-16 at 08:07 PM.
Old 06-26-16, 03:26 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 422 Votes on 377 Posts
Despite having been a painter my whole life - I've never heard of aqueous acrylic primer

It is best to either brush or back brush the primer after spraying in order to work the primer into the wood. Spraying alone lets it sets on the surface and doesn't seal the wood as well. 20 yrs is a long time to expect from an exterior coating although a lot depends on the weather it is exposed to.