paint for airless sprayer

Old 02-14-19, 12:07 AM
R
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
paint for airless sprayer

I just bought a graco x5 airless paint sprayer. I wanted to know if it matters what brand of paint I use when I spray my walls? I play to use a primer first, as i am going from dark walls to light walls. Then spray light gray as my finished color. My plans are to use flat killz on everything and then either eggshell, stain or semi gloss as the finish coat. Any recommendations on brand or sheen of paint to give the best finished product would be great. Also, I have never used a spray gun before, i have been told it will not leave a true flat smooth surface and that I should have someone roll the walls as I spray them? Any truth to this?

Old 02-14-19, 02:11 AM
S
Group Moderator
Received 1,263 Upvotes on 1,204 Posts
First, I would recommend buying your paints at a paint store and not a paint department. Second, unless the house is unoccupied and unfinished, I would not spray the paint, as the masking process takes up more time than just painting with a brush and roller.

Old 02-14-19, 02:29 AM
R
The house is empty and the carpet and other floors will be replaced after painting so other than windows and fans/lights i will not have to mask anything else.

That is why i will be going with a airless sprayer. I figured in my situation it would be quicker and time is very important. As far as a paint store is one better than others? I dont know a lot about paints and need some help picking a good paint that will spray good as well.

Old 02-14-19, 02:38 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts