Removing Oxygen Sensors in 2003 Toyota Highlander V6 (Codes P0155 & P0135)

Old 05-03-18, 02:16 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
First off, I am NOT a mechanic and was learning as I was going here so I'm sure there are better methods for doing this but I had NO luck at all finding good instructions online - so I'm posting this in the hopes it will help others in a similar predicament.

I have a 2003 Toyota Highlander with 3.0L V6.

My "check engine" light was on and after plugging in a code reader discovered 2 codes:
P0155 - Code for Bank 2 sensor 1 oxygen sensor (front of engine going into exhaust manifold)
P0135 Code for Bank 1 Sensor 1 oxygen sensor (rear of engine going into exhaust manifold)

Both of these sensors are between the manifold & catalytic converter, and are therefore known as "upstream." They are identical part #'s - Denso #234-9009.

Here's the link to the step-by-step directions with photos.

After removing my bank 2 sensor 2 oxygen sensor (P0155 error code) in my 2003 Toyota Highlander 3.0L V6, I noticed the threads were so damaged where it went in that the exhaust manifold would have to come out as well.

I documented the process, which also necessitated the removal of the catalytic converter, and made a step-by-step guide to help others out there. I was extremely nervous going into it because I am NOT a mechanic and couldn't find any help online for how to go about this. Still, everything worked out so I thought I would share the results.

Link to step-by-step instructions with photos

Thanks, I'll give that a shot. I had tried to re-tap the hole in the manifold with it in place but the threads were so gummed up I couldn't get it started. I was a little nervous about making it worse and then being out a whole manifold as I was very short on time to get this fixed!

Last edited by XSleeper; 06-03-18 at 02:17 PM. Reason: One topic, one post please
Old 06-03-18, 01:33 PM