Mudding Estimates

Old 06-05-18, 05:34 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Mudding Estimates

I'm looking to get a few estimates for my basement finishing project and was curious what people think is a reasonable cost and how you think the estimates are generally priced.

This is mudding and finishing the walls only, as the I have already hung the drywall.

I think I did a decent job hanging the drywall overall, but know I'm not a pro and have a occasional bad cut or seam, doing the best I could. And I could only get 8 ft boards down the stairs so have few more butt seams than I would have preferred.

The room is essentially an L shape pattern of ~ 24 x12 and 12 x 12 with 7 foot ceilings. I've estimated total Wall and Ceiling square footage is about 1,200 SF.

I live in Buffalo NY, so not the highest cost of living here, but not the cheapest either.

For my first quote so far was told that with Summer here, demand is high and estimate would be $2,500. But if I want to wait for fall/winter when demand slows he could do it for $1,700.

So just trying to get an idea as what seems fair/reasonable and what seems to much. I plan to get 2 more quotes still and can definitely wait till fall time to save some money.

Thanks

Old 06-05-18, 08:16 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
You'll just have to get quotes. Labor rates for work like that are highly variable. Right now in my area you could get quotes to mud a whole house but most will not even return your call for just a few rooms and many won't return a call if they find out the rock has been hung by an amateur.

Old 06-05-18, 09:22 AM
M
Received 27 Upvotes on 21 Posts