Black mold in corner of ceiling

Old 10-15-19, 01:37 PM
N
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Black mold in corner of ceiling

The corner of our dining room has developed some black mold over the last 6 months. The cause of mold has been identified as there was a few cracks that needed to be filled with insulation and now I am looking at repairing the portion of the ceiling. I am a total newb when it comes to this type of work but can usually pick things up fairly quick. Can anyone provide guidance on how to go about this?

First of all, is the ceiling plaster or drywall? Having a hard time identifying.. I've included a pick of a wall outlet to maybe identify? See pics below of the mold spot in the corner. The size of the potion that would need to be cut out is 24" x 15".

Name:  m1.JPG
Views: 3029
Size:  64.0 KB

Name:  m2.JPG
Views: 469
Size:  75.0 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 10-15-19 at 03:26 PM. Reason: reoriented/resized pictures
Old 10-15-19, 02:06 PM
M
Received 293 Upvotes on 263 Posts
Looks like plaster to me.

Might be a job best left to a pro.

Many old plaster jobs has asbestos in them so I would not mess with it.

Did not see the second picture/post. the walls look like drywall ( I think) but there is no guarantee that the ceiling is also drywall

Old 10-15-19, 02:12 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 832 Upvotes on 729 Posts
Can you post the pic of the outlet with the cover off?
Hard to say whether or not it's plaster or drywall that has a skim coat of joint compound. How old is the house?
Personally I wouldn't be afraid to tackle the job. Even if there is asbestos - it's only dangerous in dry powder form. You do need to scrape off all the mold and seal any water stains. While j/c is fine for drywall - I'd use Durabond if it's plaster.

Just saw your other post which included the outlet pic - looks like drywall to me.

btw - welcome to the forums!

Old 10-15-19, 02:36 PM
M
Received 293 Upvotes on 263 Posts
marksr