Camper van dual battery electrical diagram

Old 04-24-19, 07:58 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Camper van dual battery electrical diagram

Hi all,
New to this forum, and to electrical work in general. I am currently converting a Nissan NV 2500 cargo van to a camper van for cross-country traveling. The van currently has a 130a alternator powering the starter battery, and I have purchased a WirthCo 20092 Battery Doctor 125 Amp/150 Amp Battery Isolator (smart isolator) to charge a AGM Deep Cycle 12v 125ah SLA rechargeable Battery. I plan to hook up a vent fan, LED lights, and some 12V outlets to start (all via a fuse box). I may add solar at a later point, but for now, want to see how if I can get by with just charging the auxiliary battery off of the existing alternator with a smart isolator.

Since I am new to electrical work, I want to make sure everything I am doing is safe! I plan on using all 4AWG wiring between starter battery>isolator, isolator>aux battery, and battery>fuse box, and then all 12AWG wiring accessories to fuse box. I am also planning using 150a fuses at each battery connection, but am unsure if I should use in-line or a fused terminal for the auxiliary battery.

Please see the attached diagram (apologies for it being hand drawn...) for further explanation.

Questions I have:
  1. Is my current diagram safe/functional?
  2. What would be an affordable charge monitor (would a voltmeter suffice) for the battery in this setup, and where would I connect it?
  3. Should I use in-line fuses for the auxiliary battery (from the isolator and to the fuse box), or can I use one fused terminal on the battery to fuse both of these wires?
  4. Any other tips/advice?
Thanks!!

PS please let me know if there is a more appropriate thread/forum to post this in, our another website entirely.

Name:  camper van electrical diagram 4.24.19.jpg
Views: 1660
Size:  57.0 KB

Last edited by PJmax; 04-24-19 at 07:44 PM. Reason: enhanced/enlarged diagram