How to fix sewer pipe?


  #1  
Old 08-03-16, 05:10 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to fix sewer pipe?

The sewer drain pipe going from my home to my septic tank busted. Right outside my house the drain pipe stuck out of the ground just a little and my wife hit it with the lawnmower. She ripped the 45 right off of it. Its copper. So, how do I cut the 2 pipes and adjoin another elbow? Do I need sealant?
 
  #2  
Old 08-03-16, 05:13 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Come to think of it, it might be cast iron.
 
  #3  
Old 08-03-16, 05:39 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Repairs in cast iron drain pipes are made with no-hub couplers.
You cut out a section of pipe and replace it with ABS or PVC. You will need a sawzall or an angle grinder to cut the pipe if it's cast iron.

Name:  nohub.JPG
Views: 326
Size:  9.7 KB

You can get help here on the details.
 
  #4  
Old 08-03-16, 05:49 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Ok. Will abs or pvc and those couplers be safe outside? The top side of them will be exposed.
 
  #5  
Old 08-03-16, 06:09 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,006
Received 125 Likes on 110 Posts
Picture sure would be nice.
Huge difference from copper to cast iron.
Just can not picture sewer lines ran above grade in your area.
 
  #6  
Old 08-03-16, 06:12 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sewer pipes are normally buried. The no-hubs are safe for in-wall use or buried, so I imagine they are safe to be exposed to the elements. The metal band and screws are stainless steel.
 
  #7  
Old 08-03-16, 06:15 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
It is burried but the top of it was sticking out of the ground about 1". Probally due to me prviously digging around it.
 
  #8  
Old 08-03-16, 08:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,019
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,858 Posts
When it comes to pipes containing water in a cold zone.... like NJ.... the pipes usually need to be buried below the frost line so that they don't freeze. Have you ever had an issue like that ?

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html
 
  #9  
Old 08-04-16, 04:11 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Nope............................
 
  #10  
Old 08-04-16, 05:55 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,919
Received 56 Likes on 49 Posts
Sewer Pipe

Are we talking about the main sewer pipe or are we talking about a cleanout with the top,of the cleanout at grade level?
 
  #11  
Old 08-04-16, 06:13 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Main sewer pipe. I took a pic this morning but don't know how to post it
 
  #12  
Old 08-04-16, 06:21 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How can I add a pic from my phone?
 
  #13  
Old 08-04-16, 06:39 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Email it to your computer is the easiest way then insert it from yout computer. Android or IOS?
 
  #14  
Old 08-04-16, 07:03 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 5,037
Received 322 Likes on 256 Posts
Uploading a pic from your phone is the same instructions as from a computer. See the link in Pete's post #8.
ETA: That is if you're also posting here from your phone. If you're here on a computer, but took the pic on the phone, then you need to email it to your computer and save it, as Ray said.
 
  #15  
Old 08-04-16, 05:59 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
 
  #16  
Old 08-04-16, 06:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Can you give us a picture standing further back so we can see the other end of the break.
 
  #17  
Old 08-04-16, 06:02 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts


 
  #18  
Old 08-04-16, 06:05 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Its definitley copper. I cut the part from the house flush and the other pipe was loose. So I dug down to it and it had a half ass coupling on it that was hardly holding it on. SO, how do I go about fixing it? The copper part from the house is slightly ovaled so sweating a new copper elbow will be hard. The other elbow in the ground isnt in the best of shape but its solid. Do the make couplings that will fit over the copper and pvc?
 
  #19  
Old 08-04-16, 06:31 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Its 3" btw..................
 
  #20  
Old 08-04-16, 07:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
I would try using shielded rubber couplings. I would cut the pipe as shown below and connect using two pieces of PVC pipe and a 90 PVC ell.

When finished I'd build a barrier around it such as a raised flowee bed to protect it above ground.

Name:  53.jpg
Views: 216
Size:  49.8 KB
 
  #21  
Old 08-05-16, 04:24 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I was gonna run a pvc pipe down to the other elbow, should I not?
 
  #22  
Old 08-05-16, 09:08 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
You can replace as much pipe and as many fittings as you like with PVC.

You will need special no-hub couplers, copper to PVC/ABS/Cast Iron. The outside diameter of the copper is smaller than the PVC. This is probably why the couplers were loose before, wrong part used.

The special couplers might not be available at a home improvement store, check a plumbing store.
 
  #23  
Old 08-05-16, 11:55 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
Last resort no shield Ferncos would probably work even if they weren't specifically for copper but it wouldn't be code.

Name:  db1fb556-b860-4f11-bdd3-04281ad8cf13_300.jpg
Views: 67
Size:  9.3 KB
 
  #24  
Old 08-05-16, 04:41 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Home depot has the fernco couplers should I use those or do I have to use those couplers with the shield?
 
  #25  
Old 08-05-16, 05:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Likes: 0
Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts
The forum can only advise you to follow code. I can say that before I knew they weren't considered code and I used them and was sometimes surprised when they tightened in situations I thought they wouldn't. I can't tell you to use them nor do I know if they will work never having encountered copper sewer line.
 
  #26  
Old 08-05-16, 05:39 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,449
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
If you want this done right, I would put forth the effort to find the copper to PVC no-hubs (shielded coupler). The coupler will fit tight against both pipes and be leak free.
Check Lowes or do a search for a Ferguson supply store or plumber in your area.
 
  #27  
Old 08-05-16, 07:21 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 394
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanx yall. Looks like home depot has the shielded ones.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: