Under-sink PVC piping crack

Old 02-01-17, 10:36 AM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Under-sink PVC piping crack

Hi all,

Congratulated myself too soon for installing a new garbage disposal, I'm a big novice so felt quite proud. In tightening the PVC connections, became overzealous and cracked the fitting on the PVC pipe. I was thinking I'd be able to replace the cracked fastener, but it's unable to come off the PVC pipe as there is a wedge that it can't come over easily (I suppose I could force or just break it off at the crack, but I'm unsure what'd I replace it with). The U-pipe that it fastens to is threaded. Right now it is water-tight and not leaking, but I anticipate that this has the potential to be compromised over time and lead to a leak due to the standing water. At the very least would be picked up by a home inspector if I ever decide to sell my place and would need replacing anyways.

Any possible solutions? I'm not skilled with PVC piping and wanted to see if there were any possible solutions other than finding a plumber to cut new piping. Apologies if this is a basic question.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Images   
Old 02-01-17, 10:46 AM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
You can just remove the two flange bolts on the GD and that will release the tension on that joint so you can unscrew the nut and disconnect the trap.

Unfortunately, the nut that is cracked is captive on that part of the trap. Replacing it will require cutting off the trap from that very short piece of pipe that goes into the wye. More bad news. That short piece of pipe is now too short to attach a new trap, so it will either have to be removed using a socket saver....or the wye and cleanout will have to be cut off and replaced also.

Not a lot of money for new parts, nor a lot of work, but if you are uncomfortable cutting PVC and solvent welding it....may be time to call a plumber.