How to plumb into existing water line for softner?

Old 01-03-18, 07:11 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to plumb into existing water line for softner?

Hello all, newbie first post. I have little experience with plumbing water lines but understand the fundamentals.

I'm in the beginning phase of installing a whole-home water softener. The home it's going in is on a well with a pressure tank, and I understand I want to install the softener after the pressure tank. There is a 1" line from well to pressure tank, and 3/4" after the pressure tank. The problem I'm running into is that after the pressure tank, the line runs immediately into the wall. I'm wondering how I can plumb into this line to feed into the softener. The pressure tank is mounted in a corner, with washer/dryer stack next to it, and hot water heater on the other side of the washer/dryer. The softener will be next to the hot water heater, in a space that a deep freezer currently occupies.

Will I need to tear into the wall? What kind of new piping mess will I need to run in order to tie into the softener which will be situated next to the hot water heater? See photos, hope this makes sense...

Attached Images   
Old 01-04-18, 01:13 AM
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
The output of the softner will connect to the line going to the house (on the right) but the inlet to the softner can feed from the 1" line (on the right) from the well if that makes the plumbing simpler.

The softner does not have to be downstream of the tank, the tank just needs to be connected to the feed line.

Old 01-04-18, 06:00 AM
H
Really? Everything I've read has said that the softener needs to be downstream of the pressure tank; otherwise it could damage the submersible. My question is how to tap into the 3/4" line downstream of the tank since it runs almost immediately into the wall. Should I just tear into the wall and run some pex around the room to connect the softener where I need it?