Is my pressure gauge broken?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-06-19, 01:30 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Is my pressure gauge broken?

Hello! I had an Ar CO2 pressure gauge (https://www.amazon.com/Welding-Regulator-Repair-Replacement-US-017/dp/B06X3XWVYM/ref=asc_df_B06X3XWVYM/?tag=hyprod-20&linkCode=df0&hvadid=242017931404&hvpos=1o1&hvnetw=g&hvrand=3301672046864574450&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=9027194&hvtargid=pla-623534738859&psc=1) hooked up to a valve that I was using to control the flow of 95:5 Ar:H mixture. After some overflows (i.e., the needle went to max multiple times), I heard a popping sound and now whenever I open the tank of Ar-H, the pressure immediately goes to maximum and I cannot control the flow rate. Does that mean my pressure gauge is broken or the entire regulator is? Thanks!

PS My regulator + gauge is this one: https://www.airgas.com/product/Gas-E...0aAimCEALw_wcB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-06-19, 05:33 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,027
Received 686 Votes on 633 Posts
Yes, it is very possible you killed the gauge by feeding it high pressure gas. If you cannot control the flow or pressure from your regulator then it's possible that it is bad.
 
  #3  
Old 10-06-19, 06:06 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,145
Received 38 Votes on 36 Posts
Ok.
Presumably you are working with a MIG welder.
If so you are not using the correct regulator.

A MIG gas regulator does not normally have any pressure adjustment and is preset at about 10 psi.
There is then a needle valve on the outlet where the hose to the welder connects.
The guage you are having problems with would be connected downstream of the needle valve estimating the flow rate to the gun.
More costly and accurate flow guages will be direct acting with a rising indicator rather than the guage.
The flow rate indicator shown could have the rising ball indicator replaced by the pressure guage you bought.



To make what you have work you would need to install a needle valve after the regulator and tee after the needle valve.
Install that style of guage you have in one branch of the tee and the connection to your gas hose to the other.
Preset the pressure to 10 psi and regulate flow to the welder with the needle valve.

Or, just buy the correct reguator and flow indicator.
 
  #4  
Old 10-06-19, 12:44 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is there a way for me to know for sure which one it is?
 
  #5  
Old 10-06-19, 01:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,840
Received 1,201 Votes on 1,111 Posts
What is the make and model of the welder ?
Was that the original regulator with the welder ?
 
  #6  
Old 10-06-19, 01:27 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm sorry, what do you mean make and model? This link: https://www.airgas.com/product/Gas-E...0aAimCEALw_wcB suggests that it's Radnor

CF153-320. Is that what you're looking for?

 
  #7  
Old 10-06-19, 01:39 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,840
Received 1,201 Votes on 1,111 Posts
What does the regulator work with..... a welder..... a torch ??
We know which gauge you have.

We don't know if it's the right regulator for what you have.
 
  #8  
Old 10-06-19, 01:41 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's an Ar-H mixture tank from Airgas. One of these: https://www.airgas.com/p/X02AR95C3000993
 
  #9  
Old 10-06-19, 01:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,840
Received 1,201 Votes on 1,111 Posts
Do you have a welder ?
Is this regulator used on your welder ?
 
  #10  
Old 10-06-19, 01:58 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
By welder do you mean this: https://www.harborfreight.com/welding/welders.html? If yes, then no, I don't have a welder
 
  #11  
Old 10-06-19, 05:08 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,145
Received 38 Votes on 36 Posts
I agree.
We need to know the whole story.
I made a assumption that this regulator and flow gauge was for a mig welder.
Is this correct???
I made that assumption because l Iikely have welding on the brain right now.

Co2 can be used for soda pop, cooling lasers, for making dry ice, powering paintball, potato and pellet guns, in microbiology labs, etc.
Tell us what you are doing???
 
  #12  
Old 10-06-19, 05:10 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not actually using CO2; I'm flowing an Ar-H mixture into a vacuum system that purifies argon.
 
  #13  
Old 10-06-19, 05:52 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,145
Received 38 Votes on 36 Posts
Ahh....ok.
You should have corrected us sooner.
We are primarily a homeowner site but what you have has consumer uses.
I know of some uses for pure argon............making titanium, atomic research and growing crystals.......one of these?

So, what parameters do you need for that process?
Do you need to control the flow rate and pressure and if so what would they be?
 
  #14  
Old 10-06-19, 06:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,840
Received 1,201 Votes on 1,111 Posts
I'm flowing an Ar-H mixture into a vacuum system
That would definitely take a special regulator to run into a vacuum.
 
  #15  
Old 10-06-19, 06:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Apologies, I should've clarified from the start. Yes, my research is particle Physics and I'm trying to purify liquid argon (but in this specific case, I'm trying to flow a mixture of Ar-H).

I only need to control the flow rate, which needs to be at about 5 cfh.
 
  #16  
Old 10-06-19, 07:45 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,145
Received 38 Votes on 36 Posts
Ok.
You would have to either put the parts together as I have suggested or purchase an argon regulator and flow guage in the pic I posted and change the Argon fitting to a Co2 fitting.
The guage that was damaged was designed for a maximum of about 20 psi so if you use the regulator you have do not set it above 10 psi.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: