Polyethylene or PVC for underground water line?

Old 11-30-19, 04:59 AM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Polyethylene or PVC for underground water line?

I have to run a water line from my main home to an in-law-apartment underground approximately 100 feet. Temperatures are in the 30s and I thought maybe it would be easier running 1" ridged PVC in my trench one length at a time than rolled 1" Polyethylene piping, worried about the rolled polyethylene pipe cracking or kinking working with it in cold weather. PVC I would have glued joints and with Polyethylene I'd have none, which piping would you suggest?

Old 11-30-19, 05:35 AM
Super Moderator
Received 84 Upvotes on 76 Posts
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
Old 11-30-19, 05:47 AM
Z
Received 124 Upvotes on 115 Posts
I’m not an expert or pro, but I used a roll of black poly from my house to the well head, however the distance was only 20 feet. If you heat up the black poly it is much easier to work with. I think if you were to put the coil in a tub of warm/hot water or near a heat source for a while, you would be able to put it in the trench and roll it out without problems.

I was able to roll it out without heating it up, but it was in fact a little difficult. The outdoor temp was in the 60’s (I think). You also have to make sure there are no sharp rocks or anything like that in the trench when you lay out the poly. But I assume (don’t know for sure) that the same precaution must be taken with PVC also.

I think the PVC will crack after a while the black poly won’t. Not sure, but maybe one of the pro’s will jump in.

Good luck!

(didn't see Mike's post)

I would also use the heaviest walled stuff possible - I did at the time .

Old 11-30-19, 07:14 AM
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
Every well, including the new one two years ago, had poly pipe!