Water Softener Bypass using a Check Valve

Old 08-01-23, 03:55 PM
K
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Water Softener Bypass using a Check Valve

Currently I am using the typical plunger style bypass at the Water Softener itself. For 'reasons' I am thinking about using ball valves for the bypass when I change Water Softeners in the near future.
The diagrams I see (online and in the manuals) show 3 valves like this:

Is there any reason I couldn't instead using a 3 way valve and a check valve?
My text below is a little hard to read but the ball valve flow options would be this:

Realizing the chance of a failure for a check valve while in bypass mode would be higher than that of a ball valve, I am putting the chance of either at pretty slim.

Old 08-01-23, 04:58 PM
Z
Received 133 Upvotes on 124 Posts
K-

I’m no expert for sure but one thing about regular 2-way ball valves, I’m pretty sure you can get all different sizes in full port. Thus three 2-way full port ball valves should have no impact on water flow.

But I don’t know whether you could get the 3-way valves in 3/4 full port. But I’ve seen them in 1/2 full port. So, if the piping into your softener is 3/4 then maybe you would take a slight hit on water flow. Also, I think you would also take a slight hit on water flow through a check valve.

Maybe none of it enough to worry about but I think technically there would be a difference.

So, your choice would be 3 simple valves with full water flow, vs. 2 valves but each more complex and some restricted water flow – although the restriction may be negligible.

At least that’s the way it seems to me. Could be wrong. I wonder if any of the plumbing gurus around her could explain why we never see the configuration you are talking about- because it does seem reasonable.

Old 08-01-23, 05:24 PM
K
Ah, good point on the restricted flow. Hadn't thought about that. Wonder if upsizing to 1" on the valve and then reducing would be needed. I'll need to check out options and IDs.