Replacing Sargent Nightlatch

Old 04-02-17, 05:17 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Replacing Sargent Nightlatch

I have a older Sargent rim cylinder night latch lock that has broken and would like to replace it with something similar. I'm not sure how old it is, but I saw the same model on ebay several years ago and it was a Sargent #4277. I have tried to find a newer night latch that will take the place of the Sargent but it will require more holes in the antique door, which I would like to avoid.

I have taken the latch mechanism apart and there is a small piece that receives the connecting bar from the cylinder that is broken and if I could find a replacement part I could salvage the original. I have looked on ebay with no luck. Does anyone carry vintage Sargent lock parts?

Thanks

Old 04-03-17, 06:44 AM
T
Received 198 Upvotes on 174 Posts
In the 1960s I started training as a locksmith with a company that was 80 years old then. They had an extensive, dust laden "library" upstairs where I spent many non-working hours. Granted, my memory isn't what it once was, but I saw almost nothing on Sargent rim locks and encountered very few of them in the field. (Hardware appears to depend on the market but I saw seemingingly everything else including a lot of old Sargent.)

Even 50 years ago, Yale was the only "big name" manufacturer making rim locks (exit devices excepted). Based on experience, I would say your chances of finding parts are virtually non-existant. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news.

Old 04-05-17, 04:09 PM
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Send a pic

Upload a pic of the back case of the lock.
May be able to find a replacement part (or make one)
Shipping will be more expensive than the part I presume.

Old 04-06-17, 07:50 PM
R
Received 45 Upvotes on 42 Posts