Chimney cap

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-28-18, 06:45 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Chimney cap

I bought a house last year. During the inspection, they said the house does not have a chimney cap. There is some moisture/mold around the chimney in the attic/basement. I'm wondering if this is something I can do myself? If I have to hire someone how much should the whole thing cost? I added some pics that the inspector guy took.
 
Attached Images     
  #2  
Old 02-28-18, 08:14 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 26,521
Received 776 Votes on 716 Posts
He is probably saying you need a cap over the flue. Something like this:



Image credit: woodlanddirect
 
  #3  
Old 02-28-18, 08:35 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gotcha. Is that sometimes I can do myself? If not what is a reasonable payment for someone?
 
  #4  
Old 03-01-18, 05:57 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 2,088
Received 68 Votes on 62 Posts
Most certainly a cap is DIYable, easy enough that you might even be disappointed in how soon you're done, as long as you're okay with climbing up there. But the thing that the arrow is pointing at is a crown, not a cap, and a crown is a different story, still DIYable, but quite a bit more involved, so you may or may not want to tackle it. There is definitely a crown there, so the fact that he said it's not there probably means he was referring to the cap, and he should know the difference between the two, so while the cap is in order, I would also look at the crown because it looks like it might be chipped or broken away some, at least along one outside edge.
 
  #5  
Old 03-03-18, 11:07 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Perfect. Thanks. I hope there is no leak.
 
  #6  
Old 03-04-18, 09:05 AM
michaelshortt's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Washington State
Posts: 789
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looking at the chimney in the attic the water is probably coming from the crown. I say repair crown and put a cap o it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: