DIY Roof Warranty for Sale of Home

Old 04-24-18, 12:40 PM
H
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
DIY Roof Warranty for Sale of Home

Hey all,
We are selling our home. As part of the sales agreement, we are putting new shingles on the house. We are doing this work ourselves, and this is not our first, second, or even twentieth roof that we have done. We know what we are doing, and there is zero concern there. Where I have a question, is in what the buyer of our home is requesting. They would like us to warranty the roof installation for any faulty labor or material failure for 5 years. How would a DIYer like myself handle a warranty such as this being requested? Thank you for any input you may have.

Old 04-24-18, 12:52 PM
Received 727 Upvotes on 643 Posts
I'm not a lawyer. My opinion is if you want (or must) warrant the roof then I suggest an amount of monies be put into escrow for a period of five years or whatever the contract might say. Or get a business license to install roofing and get insured. You must understand that nowadays selling a home is more than "as is". If you do work of that nature you must meet all codes and in most cases get permits and be a license roofer. Repairing a roof because of a hole is one thing but re-roofing with intent to sell the home as advertised as having a new roof is more than the average person should handle. By selling the house and say it has a new roof you are in fact warranting the workmanship and materials, Therefore you must be able to prove you can stand behind that inferred warranty.

Old 04-24-18, 01:48 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,924 Upvotes on 1,728 Posts
IMO, 5 years is excessive and as for the materials, they would need to take that up with the company that mfg them, not you.

Be careful when the buyer starts dictating the demands. There is often no end to their nitpicking. It's a used house, not a new one and you aren't his contractor.

Old 04-24-18, 02:59 PM