Tips for flush mount registers


  #1  
Old 11-29-16, 04:02 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,279
Received 488 Votes on 452 Posts
Tips for flush mount registers

Just picked up my flush mounted registers, I'm going to bet the drop in style would have saved me a few hours of work.

Anyway they look slick so they are going in.

Anybody got any tips on installing? Haven't measured where they fall in relation to the planks (5" wide) but I'm sure it's going to take some fancy cutting to fit them!
 
  #2  
Old 11-29-16, 04:11 PM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If you have several to do and have a router, it would be worth the time to make a template out of 1/4 inch ply or hardboard and use a template bit in the router. You'd need a template bit that has the guide bearing on the shaft side of the cutting edge. A little time to make the template, but the cutouts will be fast and perfect.

PS: but not a good idea if the floor is stapled or fastened with cleats....
 
  #3  
Old 11-30-16, 02:03 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,279
Received 488 Votes on 452 Posts
I did some searching and saw that using a router was one option.

Unfortunately my ducts are around 2" from the baseboard so even my small router would not fit.

Same issue with attempting to cut an opening using circular saw and not even going to attempt a free hand multi tool cut.

Looks like I'm just going to have to do some precision table saw cutting for these!
 
  #4  
Old 11-30-16, 04:03 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 486
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I've done free hand plunge cuts with a multi tool by laying an edge guide along the cut line on the 'keep' side of the cut line. By putting the edge guide on the 'keep' side if it jumps it will hit the 'waste' side. Do the registers have a lip or do they fit into a hole in the flooring?
 
  #5  
Old 11-30-16, 07:37 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,876
Received 99 Votes on 87 Posts
I'm confused?
Are there not already holes there now with ductwork in place?
Is the flooring already installed?
No dampers on these registers you bought?
 
  #6  
Old 12-11-16, 04:16 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 7,279
Received 488 Votes on 452 Posts
This should help.

Contemplated several methods, 2 "C" shaped cuts or 4 "L" shaped cuts to surround the duct.

If I had a band saw maybe but decided to just trim planks top and bottom.

If I were to do it again, I'd just buy and stain them myself, the color is not a great match.

Name:  duct.jpg
Views: 74
Size:  39.8 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: