Restaining engineered hardwood floor


  #1  
Old 05-16-19, 07:45 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2019
Location: USA
Posts: 34
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Restaining engineered hardwood floor

Hello. I just bought a house which needs a little renovation. I will start with refinishing the hardwood flood that the house is covered with in 85%. I would like to restain it with a light color, preferably light grey. The floor was replaced in 2007. It is laid in diagonal pattern.

Here are some details:

Species: Oak
Thickness: 3/8 Inch
Width: 3 Inch
Install Type: Glue Down or Staple Down or Nail Down
Grade: 3-Ply
Construction: Engineered
Edge Type: Eased Edges/ Square Ends

I sanded the the plank a little bit using a hand sander with 80 grit paper (took me about 3 minutes to get the stain layer off from that little piece), the wood is still very smooth and kinda slick.

Do you think that its suitable for sanding and restaining?
What type of sander (drum / orbital) and grit would you recommend?

Name:  f1.jpg
Views: 256
Size:  69.6 KB

Name:  f2.jpg
Views: 241
Size:  65.0 KB

Name:  f3.jpg
Views: 187
Size:  67.7 KB

Name:  f4.jpg
Views: 124
Size:  28.6 KB

Name:  f5.jpg
Views: 142
Size:  61.3 KB

Name:  f6.jpg
Views: 254
Size:  100.6 KB

Name:  f7.jpg
Views: 130
Size:  29.5 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-17-19 at 11:46 AM. Reason: resized pictures/added enlarged view
  #2  
Old 05-17-19, 02:30 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 49,125
Received 622 Votes on 550 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

That type of flooring isn't really suitable for sanding and refinishing. You only have a thin layer of wood on top and once you sand thru it the flooring is junk. A very light sanding and a fresh coat of poly is the most you can do. That type of flooring isn't made for refinishing.
 
Bud9051 voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 05-17-19, 06:36 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,308
Received 916 Votes on 832 Posts
It looks like it's solid, really depends on the thickness of the top layer!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: