Venstar T1100REC wiring question


  #1  
Old 06-28-16, 06:19 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Venstar T1100REC wiring question

New to the site but I spent several hours searching previous posts. I have a Carrier 1 stage heat pump with a White/Rodgers thermostat. I'd like to change to a Venstar T1100REC thermostat. Current wiring is O to O, G to G, Y to Y with a jumper to W, R to RC with jumper to RH. The new thermostat only has an R, no RC or RH. From what I've read I just connect R to R. Do I need the jumper from Y to W? Dip switch on the new thermostat has been set for heat pump HP, but not sure whether to to set the O/B dip switch to on or off.
 
  #2  
Old 07-02-16, 10:31 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,575
Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts
No jumper between Y and W.
O/B is Off.
Do you have a common wire for C?
 
  #3  
Old 07-03-16, 05:51 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the response. There is an unused blue wire. Can that be used for C?
 
  #4  
Old 07-03-16, 08:28 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,575
Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts
I would certainly try to connect blue to C at the stat receiver and at the furnace.

The resistor option that is recommended when C is not available should be avoided.
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-16, 05:34 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Discovered that the blue wire was already connected to C at the heat pump. Wired thermostat as suggested. Turned to cool mode and unit came on for about 5 or 6 seconds then shut off. Fan alone works. Any suggestions? Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-16, 07:22 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,575
Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts
The heat pump is outside.
Is the thermostat blue connected to the air handler inside?
Do you have 2 blue wires connected to C at the indoor unit?

Is this a split system or a package unit?
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-16, 08:38 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I believe the outside unit was replaced several years ago. As far as I know the air handler is original. It's already 95 in the attic crawl space so I'll wait for a cooler day to check the wiring on the air handler.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: