Help adding simple wifi control to simple wall heater

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-12-17, 08:01 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Help adding simple wifi control to simple wall heater

I have one of those questions that seems straight-forward - which probably means that it isn't.

We have a small cabin that I plan to start using as my office. It is one room and is heated with a simple wall heater/fan unit. It has a rudimentary dial thermostat with no digits - just a gradient from cold to hot.

I'm wondering what the simplest way would be to connect the unit to wifi so that I can turn it on from the house. It doesn't even need full thermostatic control really - just an on/off toggle would do.

The situation is slightly complicated by the fact that the walls are pine T&G, making it difficult to run new wires. So if the connectivity could be installed right in or near the heater, this would be ideal. Although I realize that such a setup is likely to be heat sensitive.

Thoughts? Brainstorms?

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-12-17, 08:21 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,185
Received 255 Votes on 229 Posts
If it's run via 120v AC then you can buy a plug in module with WiFi ability. Just need to make sure the amp draw will be sufficient. I have one that is stated as being rated for appliances, but I never looked at the amp rating. I use for lighting only.
 
  #3  
Old 09-12-17, 08:37 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry - here are more details

Right. Sorry. I should have provided the specs for the heater.

It's an Ouellet heater - 240V, 2. 08A.
 
  #4  
Old 09-12-17, 08:44 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,185
Received 255 Votes on 229 Posts
  #5  
Old 09-12-17, 12:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,742
Received 1,187 Votes on 1,098 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your heater is 500 watts. The biggest problem is that it's hardwired. That is something that will need to be addressed. There is nothing I know of that will go directly inside the heater.

The Atmoz wifi is a line voltage wifi enabled stat.
king-electric/product-line-voltage-thermostats.php
 

Last edited by PJmax; 09-12-17 at 12:39 PM.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: