Need help identifying temperature sensor.


  #1  
Old 11-14-17, 01:01 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need help identifying temperature sensor.

Can anyone identify the temp sensor on this board. I need to relocate the indoor temperature sensor. Not sure of its location on this board. It is a Honeywell th5220d1003



https://www.dropbox.com/s/k6w41sq7jc...%20PM.jpg?dl=0
 

Last edited by Azazel; 11-14-17 at 02:03 PM.
  #2  
Old 11-14-17, 01:38 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Are you talking about moving the T stat??
 
  #3  
Old 11-14-17, 01:59 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: US
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
No, I want to desolder the sensor off, then solder a wire to the board, solder sensor on the end of the wire, then relocate wire

 
  #4  
Old 11-14-17, 03:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,393
Received 4,046 Upvotes on 3,630 Posts
RT-1 is the temperature sensing semiconductor. The thermostat has been optimized with that part on the board. Extending it away from the board may introduce hum and interference. That part is also polarity sensitive.

Name:  Photo Nov 14, 3 36 21 PM_preview.jpg
Views: 261
Size:  20.3 KB
 
  #5  
Old 11-15-17, 04:47 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 3,280
Received 306 Upvotes on 271 Posts
Since you would be adding wires with your modification, why not just add a second t'stat where you want to monitor the temp. As PJ max stated, moving the temp sensor by adding wires could affect the operation of the t'stat. You are introducing electric fields that didn't exist before. It is also possible the calibration will change by remoteing the temp sensor. Good luck.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: