Battery Operated Wireless Thermostat


  #1  
Old 08-21-19, 07:53 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 329
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Battery Operated Wireless Thermostat

Is anyone building a reliable battery operated wireless thermostat yet? I have a two wire (no C wire), heat only system. I'd prefer not to install transformers.
 
  #2  
Old 08-21-19, 01:37 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,100
Received 162 Upvotes on 148 Posts
Hi, is it possible to pull a new cable between furnace and Tstat?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-19, 10:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,004
Received 4,155 Upvotes on 3,731 Posts
Do you mean a thermostat that is wireless and has wifi capabilities ?
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-19, 01:32 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Mass.
Posts: 329
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Not possible. All ceilings are finished. Correct, wifi. I've got cameras and sensors all over the house - all battery operated. I'm surprised that there are no battery operated wifi tstats.
 
  #5  
Old 08-22-19, 11:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,004
Received 4,155 Upvotes on 3,731 Posts
The thermostat and what it controls is a little more involved than what you currently have set up on wireless.

Yes.... they make a wireless thermostat but it has an involved receiver/control box called an EIM (equipment interface module) that needs to be wired into your HVAC system. Left a link below.

Honeywell "redlink" system
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: