Thermostat not working


  #1  
Old 09-16-22, 04:54 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 223
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
Thermostat not working

Our Honeywell thermostat came with the house we bought 17 years ago. The "FAN" options are "on - circulate - auto". A few days ago I noticed the fan in the "air handler" was on. I checked the thermostat and both auto and circulate were highlighted, stayed on in the thermostat screen. I changed the batteries in the thermostat. I turned the power off to the "air handler" for 24 hours, turned the power back on and the thermostat settings were okay. But it's still intermittent, sometimes the settings are as they should be, then it acts up again and auto and circulate both stay on the screen. Do I need a new thermostat?
 

Top Answer

 
09-16-22, 05:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
PJmax
PJmax is online now
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,002
Received 4,155 Upvotes on 3,731 Posts
It doesn't sound like it's working correctly.
Auto mode and fan mode on should not both be active at the same time.
 
  #2  
Old 09-16-22, 05:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 66,002
Received 4,155 Upvotes on 3,731 Posts
It doesn't sound like it's working correctly.
Auto mode and fan mode on should not both be active at the same time.
 
Houston204, izzie voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 09-17-22, 06:16 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: United States
Posts: 223
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
That's what I assumed. Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 09-21-22, 05:44 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,100
Received 162 Upvotes on 148 Posts
Hi, what is the exact model of the Stat? Is this a new problem?
Geo🇺🇸
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: