Need advice for finishing faucet/tub project

Old 02-03-17, 10:02 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Need advice for finishing faucet/tub project

My Father-in-law and I renovated a tub/shower combo at my house.

I'm very new to the DIY-projects, and continue to learn lots of lessons.

I'm a little lost on what I should do to finish this project. It appears now that we've finished the wall with tile, the push/pull Moen faucet doesn't fit anymore like it did (it appears "in" the wall now, like the tile is thicker compared to previously).

What could I do here? Any help is appreciated.

Old 02-04-17, 02:41 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Without seeing what you see, we are flying blind. Can you post a few pictures (not closeups) of your project? Did you use the factory tile spacing blank when you installed the shower control valve? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html

Old 02-04-17, 04:26 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
Can you post a picture of the problem area? Did you tile around the faucet escutcheon without removing the escutcheon?

Old 02-04-17, 08:49 AM
J
picture

Name:  IMG_20170204_082219.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  15.0 KB
Name:  IMG_20170204_082232.jpg
Views: 196
Size:  18.3 KB

Hopefully I uploaded the pictures correctly. I'm curious if something like a stem extension will remedy the problem.

Old 02-04-17, 04:20 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
The pipe nipple for the tub spout can be unscrewed and replaced with a longer one. The faucet may be more difficult. Have you tried installing your escutcheon? There is some adjustment built in but you may be beyond. In that case the faucet body will need to be moved closer to the face of your finished shower wall.