I'm hearing a fast click, click, click in wall where shower head is

Old 02-01-19, 02:27 PM
N
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm hearing a fast click, click, click in wall where shower head is

Even though it sounds almost like a mechanical tick,tick,tick,tick.... should I assume it's a fast leak (i.e. drip, drip, drip, drip...)? It's very rapid.

Assuming it is a leak, what the heck do I do? Sounds like it's coming from up near the shower head, not the handle. But it could just sound like that and not be the case. Either way, I have no experience with this sort of thing.

No idea if this happens when water is running (wouldn't be able to hear it), but it's happening right now when water isn't running. I tried running the water then turning it off, doesn't change the sound/rapidness of the sound.

Thank you.

Sponsored Links
Old 02-01-19, 02:48 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
It would be pretty rare to hear a water leak unless the water was dripping on something solid. Usually the water will follow the wall or framing and then appear where it shouldn't be.

Is this a tub where you have a tub/shower diverter ?
That diverter should allow all the water to drain out of the pipe in the wall.
If there is no diverter..... a leak could last a short while until the pipe emptied.

It's very likely to hear a dripping sound in a PVC drain system.
Is there a bathroom above that one ?

Old 02-01-19, 03:30 PM
N
Yes, it's a tub with a diverter. I think I tried it both up and down but I'll play around and see if adjusting it stops the noise.

Nothing above it (it's the top floor).

Old 02-01-19, 03:32 PM
P
Group Moderator
Received 686 Votes on 633 Posts
My first guess is that you are hearing the pipes expand. If you leave the shower off for an hour do you still hear the ticking?

Old 02-01-19, 03:58 PM
N
Yes, it's been doing this for hours.