Sink popup drain overflow leak problem

Old 03-17-19, 06:30 PM
J
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sink popup drain overflow leak problem

I am a plumbing rookie and just installed a new double sink vanity in my bathroom. One sink works great but the other has a small leak out the bottom. After much troubleshooting I figured out the water is going down the drain but a lot of the water is also going out the overflow hole and down into the area between the sink and drain assembly.

I realize the rubber gasket under the sink should be holding this water in place and after reading some other posts here I could put some putty in there or apply thread sealant. But my real question is, is this normal?? Should water be going into his area and sitting there forever? There’s no other way for water to get out of this spot except if it leaks out. I’m also nervous why the other sink isn’t leaking unless there is a flaw with this one drain causing a ton of water to flow opposite out of the two overflow drain hole.

I took everything apart and you can see the water flowing outside the drain. (It is not leaking where the drain meets the top of the sink, this is sealed nicely with putty.)

Old 03-18-19, 04:11 AM
Received 721 Upvotes on 640 Posts
Looks like you dented the tail piece or drain assembly. Replace it. No, the water that flows into the overflow does not stay in the sink cavity. The drain assembly has holes to allow it to drain completely. If your sink is porcelain use plumbers putty to seal the drain assembly. If it's cultured marble or plastic, use silicone.

Old 03-18-19, 04:23 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,153 Upvotes on 1,928 Posts
In your photo you neither have the washer or nut in place that seals the drain. Does it leak when you install the washer and nut?

Old 03-18-19, 04:40 AM
J