Dishwasher air gap help


  #1  
Old 03-25-24, 05:43 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Dishwasher air gap help

Hi all,

My Bosch dishwasher stopped draining after working for a year and half after we moved into the house. After checking the dishwasher drain I moved on to the air gap, which is attached to a disposal. After removing the plastic cap, I noticed water in the line coming from the dishwasher.

Is this even connected the right way? Acc. to diagrams on the internet the connections should be switched.

Thanks.



 
  #2  
Old 03-25-24, 05:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,695
Received 4,103 Upvotes on 3,685 Posts
That looks correct.
Typically what happens is that there is a blockage in the line going to the disposer so that when the dishwasher drains the water comes up and out of the air gap. Creates quite a mess.

The drain line needs to go from the air gap directly to the disposer with no low spot in the hose.

Some Bosch dishwashers have a check valve keeping the water from draining back into the machine which means there would be water in the line from the dishwasher to the air gap.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-24, 07:54 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Removed all hoses and ran a wire down as a snake ... rechecked the drain and the made sure the impeller is rotating fine.

Still doesn't drain. It removes the water if I run the clean cycle a couple of times, I see the water going into the garbage disposal ...

Any ideas will be appreciated?
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-24, 03:34 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 8
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Found the problem.. I removed drain hose from the air gap and let it drain in a bucket. Turned on the rinse cycle and out came a piece of plastic. Not sure how I missed it when I snaked a power cord thru it a couple of days ago. Working fine now ....

Thanks!
 
  #5  
Old 03-28-24, 03:37 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 15,993
Received 85 Upvotes on 77 Posts
you can remove that air gap and install a high loop under the sink. Most if not all codes state they are not needed today
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: