Tiling over hardwood floor

Old 08-27-18, 02:04 PM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tiling over hardwood floor

We have hard wood floors in our living room (I think 5/8" thick) and want to install tiles. Instead of removing them and then installing 5/8 plywood can I just add 1/4 cement board on top of hardwood floor and then tile? There wouldn't be any clearance issues.

It seems its the same thing but all I've been reading is you can't put tiles over hardwood floors (unless they mean directly on top with no cement board).

Sponsored Links
Old 08-27-18, 02:21 PM
Received 231 Votes on 206 Posts
I'm not an expert no should I give advise on this type of thing. But it seems t me that wood is wood, be it plywood or hardwood. The only thing that should be of concerns is to get rid of any poly or shellac film on the hardwood.

Old 08-27-18, 02:32 PM
P
That's what I thought but I'm no expert either. The hardwood floor is probably more solid then some plywood. The 1/4 cement board would be screwed down to it so I can't imagine it causing problems.

Old 08-27-18, 06:38 PM
S
Group Moderator
Received 94 Votes on 83 Posts
What kind of hardwood? What's under the hardwood - subfloor and joist structure?

Old 08-28-18, 03:14 AM
B
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I wouldn't do it. The reason hardwood floors stop short of wall structure (under your baseboard) is that they expand and contract with changes in temperature and humidity. Tile doesn't like any kind of movement. I would suggest you cut out the hardwood, replace it with plywood of at least 5/8", then 1/4" cement board on a bed of thinset and screwed down. And be sure to leave an expansion joint between the tile and the existing hardwood so the hardwood can move without affecting the tile. You can cover the joint with a piece of trim that's attached on the tile side but NOT the hardwood side.

Old 08-28-18, 04:30 AM
Received 372 Votes on 347 Posts