Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Interior Improvement Center > Walls and Ceilings
Reload this Page >

Someone helped me mount a TV. Is this ok?..

Someone helped me mount a TV. Is this ok?..

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-22-17, 01:32 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Someone helped me mount a TV. Is this ok?..

Hey all. I need some advice because I'm paranoid. A friend helped me mount a tv on my wall. I guess he could only find one stud. He drilled the bolts into the stud (I have one bolt on top and one bolt on bottom of mount in the stud) and 2 other bolts on the top of wall mount (assuming they are in dry wall) with anchors. Is this going to hold? It feels very study as we yanked on it a few times. Also, tv maybe weights 30-40lbs. Thank you!!
 
  #2  
Old 03-22-17, 01:43 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,440
Received 1,409 Votes on 1,304 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Is this ok..... well..... not really. In the following diagram is this what you did.
The two red bolts are the stud and the two blue are the hollow wall fasteners ?

Name:  wall mount.jpg
Views: 323
Size:  13.1 KB

Wall studs are normally 16" on center and the mounting brackets are purposely made wider in order to catch two studs.

You have the bulk of the weight on the hollow wall fasteners.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-17, 01:52 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the quick reply

Yes. That is how it is installed. the arms on the back of the tv are actually hanging from the center and not from the outer corners. I don't know if that's makes a difference. Does this mean this tv is going to fall off the wall?
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-17, 02:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,440
Received 1,409 Votes on 1,304 Posts
I doubt it will fall off the wall.... especially if you keep the TV centered on the wall mount.

Did you use something solid in the wallboard ?
Toggle bolts would have been the perfect choice.
 
  #5  
Old 03-22-17, 06:20 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,728
Received 787 Votes on 724 Posts
No, I don't think your TV will fall down. If you got two good bolts in the center into a stud then they will carry the weight. The two bolts out at the end (hopefully with some sort of sheetrock anchor) will provide some stability to prevent it from rotating or wobbling side to side.
 
  #6  
Old 03-22-17, 07:35 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,745
Received 318 Votes on 285 Posts
I would try and remount it. As PJ said, studs are on 16" centers and you should be able to find the other stud based on that measurement. At the very least replace the wall anchors with toggle bolts (large ones).
 
  #7  
Old 03-22-17, 10:23 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure exactly what was used they were plastic and grey. I keep looking behind the tv to see if it's sturdy and it feels fine.
 
  #8  
Old 03-22-17, 10:29 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wall is small so I think there is a stud on either end of the wall and one in the middle.
 
  #9  
Old 03-22-17, 10:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,440
Received 1,409 Votes on 1,304 Posts
It sounds like they used plastic mollys. Not the best choice but they come with the hanging kit. They are supposed to be used masonry.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-17, 11:00 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 24,728
Received 787 Votes on 724 Posts
If the drywall anchors were small and gray they were probably mollies. Some that you push in and then run a screw through the middle are almost useless. Better are ones that have a point on the end with big threads on the outside and you screw it into the wall before screwing your mounting screw into the center. Then strongest is a toggle bolt which requires drilling a rather large hole in the wall to insert the fastener.

Measure to the left and right 16" from where your center mounting bolts (into studs) are located. 16" over is where there is likely another stud.
 
  #11  
Old 03-22-17, 12:49 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok well thanks for all the info guys! I don't know when I'll be able to get my friend back to help me re mount the tv (I don't have a drill and I don't know what I'm doing) lol but hopefully it won't come crashing down! Crossing fingers!
 
  #12  
Old 03-22-17, 12:57 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't think you need the extra strength but here is a very strong anchor and I have used them:
WingIts World's Strongest Fastener Standard (6-Anchors)-RC-MAW35-6 - The Home Depot

Be sure to buy the 3/4" bit recommended, it cuts a very clean hole.
The mount needs to be removed to install these anchors. The SS screw in the anchors can be removed and reinstalled, the anchor will stay in the wall.
I would trust these anchors with no stud at all.
 
  #13  
Old 03-22-17, 04:57 PM
the_tow_guy's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: SW Fla USA
Posts: 12,009
Received 65 Votes on 54 Posts
FWIW, I had the same issue. We upgraded the living room TV at Christmas and moved the old one to our "parent cave". The centerline position of where we wanted to mount it was almost exactly on line with a stud. Moving to one side or the other to catch two studs would not work, so we did essentially what you did. As noted by the others we used the higher capacity anchors for the non-stud connections. This about a 10+ year old 42" Sharp Aquos and it is quite heavy.

Brian, I don't remember seeing those style anchors before, are they a fairly new product?
 
  #14  
Old 03-22-17, 05:21 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Probably fairly new. I stumbled on them to install a wall hung range hood and there was only one stud. I don't think you could pry the mounting bar off if you tried, I could be wrong because you are a Marine
What I like is they are strong and the screw is removable.
 
  #15  
Old 03-22-17, 05:38 PM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,745
Received 318 Votes on 285 Posts
As others have said, most likely you'll be OK. But when a stud falls in the wrong location, the proper thing to do is span two 2x4's with a plywood backing or use 1 x 3 's to span he studs then attach the mount to the wood instead.
 
  #16  
Old 03-22-17, 08:57 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok awesome thanks for all the helpful answers everyone!
I was pulling on it and the wall creaked, so im assuming that means its really in there? I should also probably stop pulling on it
 
  #17  
Old 03-22-17, 08:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,440
Received 1,409 Votes on 1,304 Posts
Stop pulling on the bracket and enjoy watching it.
 
  #18  
Old 03-23-17, 04:11 AM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
tHANKS FOR THE TIP ON NEW ANCHORS, i HAD NEVER SEEN THOSE EITHER. (Damn caplock key)
 
  #19  
Old 03-31-17, 12:28 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Im back

Hello everyone..
Could anyone tell me what would cause one of the lag bolts in the wall on a wall mount to become loose?

Thank you!
 
  #20  
Old 03-31-17, 04:15 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,745
Received 318 Votes on 285 Posts
Vibration, Initial hole too big. Re-use over and over. Too much weight for the bolt to hold, Improper installation. You name it.

I strongly urge you to use a large size toggle bolt or use a backer base board (see my post #15). And be sure at least one bolt is securely into a stud.

How about you send pics of your current install both of the wall without the mount and with the mount as currently installed showing the fasteners used?
 
  #21  
Old 04-03-17, 01:40 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hello! Thanks for the info. I got someone else to help me out and it's definitely done properly now! For sure in the studs this time. Thankd again!
 
  #22  
Old 04-03-17, 06:13 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 486
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Going 1 inch into the stud a #4 screw will safely hold 50 lbs, a #8 screw 70 lbs, etc. You didn't say what your screw size is but probably not less than a #8. Two screws into a stud alone would hold the whole thing......drywall anchors are some extra security. If you want to beef the whole thing up in case the kids want to do pull-ups then do it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: