Fixing bumpy spackle patches

Old 10-30-18, 04:06 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fixing bumpy spackle patches

When we moved in a few years ago there where a lot of 4 inch holes in the wall and my brother in law used a mesh and then some spackle and just used a putty knife and didn't sand the splackle down at all over a few of these holes.

I want to smooth them out so that they blend into the rest of the wall. Can I just sand them down and then prime?

Do I have to sand them down and then do a skim coat with joint compound instead?

I've never used joint compound before.

Old 10-30-18, 04:57 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
Try sanding, the odds are it won't be effective [latex paint doesn't sand well] but it doesn't hurt to scratch up the area first before you apply joint compound. More than likely you'll need to feather those repairs out over a wider area to make them visually disappear. Joint compound isn't hard to use. The neater you apply it the less sanding you'll have to do. Sanding is the messy part. Once you are satisfied with the repair, wipe off the sanding dust and prime. Pay attention to how the repair looks while the primer is still wet - that will let you know if you need to do a little more mud work.

Old 10-30-18, 05:36 AM
B
Received 47 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Currently you are looking at fixing a bump which started when the BIL slapped on way too much spackle. I'm not optimistic that you can sand and re-coat and get it much better than it is.

My approach would be to neatly cut out the affected areas, install backer boards, add a carefully cut new piece of drywall, and then proceed with a very thin layer of mus and tape and feather it out as needed to blend it in.

Tip, use something straight and two or three feet long and place it across those bumps, The gap you see will give you an idea as to the work ahead. But you can't sand down beyond the original mesh tape.

How many holes and pictures would help?

Bud