Cost estimate to replace gas hot water heater ...

Old 02-28-16, 05:19 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cost estimate to replace gas hot water heater ...

Hi,

I'm looking for a cost estimate to replace a similar model AO Smith Gas Hot Water Heater PowerShot. IName:  100_0380.jpg
Views: 783
Size:  34.6 KB.

I had a local HVAC guy stop by an gave me a quote for $1,800 including installation. However, I have friends tell me this sounds a bit on the high side. Since I'm no handyman I thought I'd reach out to you experts for some assistance.

Thanks in advance for your reply.

-Greg

Sponsored Links
Old 02-28-16, 08:00 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I'm no expert, but yeah, that sounds high. What you have looks like it's plumbed and wired ok as is (assuming the T&P valve is to the exterior), so it should be a simple swap.

I may be completely off...wait for the Pro's to check in.

Curious though, why would you call an HVAC tech instead of a plumber?

Old 02-28-16, 09:24 PM
F
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
All things considered, that might not be a bad price. A lot depends upon the prevailing wage rates in your area along with "incidentals" such as permit cost, dump fees for the old heater, any seismic strapping or flexible piping required and the like.

Also, that is a power vent heater and they normally cost from 50% to 100% more than a conventional water heater. So start with a cost of $600 to $800 just for the heater and go from there. In my area a conventional water heater replacement will cost about $800 on the low end and maybe as much as $1200 on the high end.

Best to get several estimates, I personally think five is better than three, toss out the lowest and highest and then select from the remaining based upon things other than cost.

Old 02-29-16, 06:20 AM
G
Thanks Furd, that's very helpful to know.

Old 02-29-16, 06:37 AM
G
Hi Gunguy45,