Reverse Osmosis Booster Pump Noise

Old 06-06-15, 03:46 PM
M
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reverse Osmosis Booster Pump Noise

New system with our new house. Turned on the reverse osmosis system to a loud clicking noise. The video below doesn't do justice to how loud it is, but gives you an idea. Any thoughts or suggestions on what is causing it?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfz_DpaoJLc

Old 06-06-15, 07:36 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,420 Votes on 1,313 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not a pro on these systems but I do work on the control systems.
What brand and model is that pump ?

Old 06-07-15, 06:10 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 791 Votes on 728 Posts
I can't watch videos where I am right now. Where is the sound coming from? Is the pump working and are you noticing better pressure in the water coming out of the faucet?

Old 06-07-15, 10:17 AM
Group Moderator
It's a rhythmic click occurring every two seconds. It sounds like a relay closing. Not loud but noticeable. I thought I saw the pump shake one time at one click. That would lead me to believe that there may be a pressure sensing issue.

I did a screen snag.........
Name:  RO pic.jpg
Views: 4307
Size:  28.0 KB

Old 06-07-15, 12:33 PM
M
noise

Yes, the sound is quite loud, can be heard across the house. The phone didn't pick up the audio very well. When it clicks, it does shake the entire system slightly. The brand is Kemflo.

Old 06-07-15, 01:26 PM
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Have you gone over the flow of the water?
Making sure that the pump is not starved for water?
Is the water turned on to the total system?

Old 06-07-15, 02:49 PM
Group Moderator
I was looking for a model number but it may not help as Kemflo has 0 technical support on their site.

Does the pump click like that when you are using water ?
Give us as much info as you can.

Old 06-07-15, 06:32 PM
M